Killer Vampire Locked in Dark Silence

SWalker-Locked In SilenceVirna DePaul has posted Wraith Awakening, a free novella that is a prequel to her new novel, Chosen by Blood.

Carrie Vaughn has posted the first chapter to the next Kitty Norville novel, Kitty’s Big Trouble, which is due out June 28th.

Shiloh Walker has posted an excerpt from the next Grimm Circle novel, Locked in Silence, on her forum.  Shiloh has also posted a snippet from her recent release, Hunter’s Fall.

Jenna Black has posted a teaser for her final Feariewalker novel, Sirensong, which releases July 5th.

Jim C. Hines has posted an alternate opening to his next Princess novel, The Snow Queen’s Shadow, which releases July 5th.

Yasmine Galenorn has posted another snippet from her upcoming Indigo Court novel, Night Veil, which releases July 5th.

Ilona Andrews has posted an excerpt from her next Edge novel, Fate’s Edge, which releases November 29th.

Author Appearances:

PWarner-How to Party with a Killer VampireI do have to say, I miss the PNR covers that are more whimsical than showcasing a hot bod or intense scene.  So I was excited to come across a new series by Penny Warner that has those types of covers for her Party-Planning Mystery series.  The fourth novel, How to Party with a Killer Vampire, has such a cover and I like it.  Here are only two of many fabulous covers that have been popping up. For all the new covers, I’ve added them to the FB album for your viewing pleasure.

Jeaniene Frost is still working on a title for the first Vlad novel, but we now have a series name!  The first novel in the Night Prince series is slated for spring/summer 2012 and the second book will appear after Night Huntress #7.

Avon is having a massive summer sale on their ebooks. Prices start as low as $1.99 and includes lots of our favorite authors.

Rachel Vincent has also announced that the first three stories in her Soul Screamers series – My Soul to Lose, My Soul To Take and My Soul To Save – are going to be published in an omnibus edition, which will be released in December.

Fabulous news for Carolyn Crane – her Disillusionists series has been optioned for film!  Now while this doesn’t guarantee it’ll make it to the screen, it’s one step closer than a lot of other series.

For fans of Marjorie Liu, Amazon has preorder links up for the next Hunters Kiss and Dirk & Steele novels.  The tentative titles for the fourth Hunter Kiss novel is The Mortal Bone (December 27th) and the eleventh Dirk & Steele is Within the Flames (November 29th).  I saw tentative because I haven’t seen them listed on Liu’s website yet.  So they could end up changing.  Also, I’m not familiar with Liu’s Molly Beacon Mystery series, but there’s also a preorder link for the next novel, Beacon in the Dark, which will be out March 6, 2012.

As a side note, I’ll be updating the Upcoming Releases page this weekend.  I have a couple dozen new titles to add, so if there’s one I’m missing (and hasn’t shown up in any of the FB albums), you can add it here.

CNeill-Dark EliteChloe Neill has announced that the first two novels in her Dark Elite series – Firespell and Hexbound – are going to be published in an omnibus edition, which will be released August 1, 2011.

It’s up on Amazon already, but Jennifer Estep has officially announced the title to the sixth Elemental Assassin novel.  We’ll get By a Thread on January 31, 2012.  We’re even given a brief idea for the story:

As far as plots go, I’m jok­ingly refer­ring to By a Thread as Gin on Vacation. Gin decides to get out of Ash­land for a few days but finds her­self in as much trou­ble as ever. And you know how Gin likes to deal with trou­ble.

Tez Says has five new deals in the publishing world to tell us about, including a couple of tv rights that have been optioned as well.

Galaxy Express has a fabulous roundup of science fiction news and tidbits.

Contests:
I Smell Sheep is giving away a couple of books and lots of author swag. Ends June 17th.

Wicked Little Pixie and All Things Urban Fantasy are giving away copies of Jeri Smith-Ready’s Shade and Shift.  Ends June 16th and 14th, respectively (US only).

Carolyn Crane is giving away a copy of Ellen Connor’s Nightfall and a book of choice. Ends June 14th.

Vampire Wire is giving away a copy of Jennifer Rardin’s The Deadliest Bite.  Ends June 20th.

About Jackie 3273 Articles
I am a 30-something SAHM with two adorable boys and a supportive husband who is very tolerant of my reading addiction. I love to read and easily go through about a dozen books a month – well I did before I had kids. Now, not so much. After my first son was born, I began to take my hobby of reviewing a little more serious and started Literary Escapism to help with my sanity. I love to discuss the fabulous novels I’ve read and meeting all the wonderful people in the book blogging community has been amazing.