Reaver by Larissa Ione

LIone-ReaverI’d been waiting and waiting, ever since I first started reading Larissa Ione’s Lords of Deliverance series, for Reaver’s story. Reaver did not disappoint. Ione just about outdid herself with Reaver’s story. For you LoD fans, if you haven’t yet picked it up, do not delay any longer.

Reaver is an angel with a past, a record, and a less-than-heavenly attitude. Powerful enough to fight alongside the fiercest battle angels-and crazy enough to risk his wings on a one-way mission to hell-he’s agreed to go where no angel has ever gone before…to steal the most seductive and dangerous prize of Satan himself.


Harvester is one of the Fallen, a once-heroic angel who sacrificed her wings to work as an undercover agent in hell. But now her cover has been blown, and she’s been doomed to an eternity of agonizing torture. Even if Reaver can snatch her away from Satan’s lair, even if they can fight their way out of the underworld’s darkest depths, there is one thing Harvester can never escape-her newfound thirst for an angel’s blood…

I think many of us were ecstatic when Ione revealed that the next LoD book was in fact, Reaver. The last book, Rogue Rider, hinted that Reaver’s story would be next. At the end of Rogue Rider, I began to itch for Reaver’s story. I was not disappointed and Reaver by far is one of the best books Ione has written.  I do so adore Ione’s writing style.  It is fast paced and easy to follow.  At this point all of the worldbuilding is complete and we’re treated to much more action.  We also, finally, get the backstory on Reaver…and Harvester.  If you’ve been reading LoD thus far, you can probably guess some things.  However, there were some pretty big revelations in Reaver.  We knew Reaver was Yenrieth but he didn’t remember anything but the last 30 years. Prepare yourself for the revelations that come when Reaver gets those memories back.  The memories aren’t all at once, but the majority of them are.  Also, there are plenty of smexy times but if you’re wanting some real steam, you’ll be disappointed with Reaver; the focus is much more on action, backstory and furthering the series story arc than on any smexy-ness.

Reaver gives us just enough of a background of the prior LoD novels that a full re-read isn’t necessary before starting Reaver.  However, who would blame you if you wanted to do one? *wink*  That said, if you’re new to LoD, I’d suggest you read the four prior novels first, and would likely go further and recommend you read Demonica series as well as the LoD series is a spin off and it beneficial to have the history from Demonica world when reading LoD.

Really and truly, I cannot say anything bad about ReaverAll I can really do is gush about how good it was. I’m totally looking forward to the next LoD novel. Now…get yourself to your favorite book retailer (online or in person!) and get you some Reaver!

Read Order:
Eternal Rider
Immortal Rider
Lethal Rider
Rogue Rider

About Nicole 146 Articles
Attorney by day, Publicist for Barclay Publicity and reviewer/LE (assistant) editor by night. I'm a huge book nerd and love to read. I have 2 dogs, both Labrador retriever mixed breeds, who are very rotten and think they run the house. Let's not lie, they totally do, I just can't them know it ha ha! My usual genre is romance or urban fantasy. I love all things having to do with paranormal, with the occasional good contemp/BDSM/erotica thrown in to spice it all up.